Custom Search
26th January 2009, 08:14 PM
Faddai

GS500 clean & freshen up

Hi,

I'm just about to bring home a '97 GS500e that has not been turned over for 5 years. Its 11 years old, but has only done 350 miles, so its still in pristine condition. I'm not at all familiar with bike mechanics, but used to service all my own cars. What should I do first? I'm thinking about an oil change and then just starting her up, but would value some advice from old hands at this kinda thing.

Thanks.
26th January 2009, 08:52 PM
monkeybiker

I'm no expert but I think I would want to turn it by hand a few times first to get everything moving and oiled up, and change the spark plugs.
26th January 2009, 11:00 PM
Anff
Forum Supporter

Not done it myself but the general advice I've seen about is that it's best to change the oil and filters (air and oil- check the airbox for signs of any animals nesting in there.
I've heard of occations where little rodents nest in the airbox.

When changing the plugs, I'd squirt a tiny bit of oil into the holes too/
27th January 2009, 07:52 AM
Ayrshire Joe
I hate grey squirrels!

Ditto, wee tad of oil in the plugs would help. As well as I would run her in gently for another few hundred miles. Then repeat the oil filter change exactly as you would with any new-ish engine. Should be ok if stored well. Just watch for the rubber on the tyres. The brake might need changed too!
27th January 2009, 05:40 PM
bill
Forum Supporter

I would clean all the fuel out as well, carbs, tank,lines etc.
Is the tank rusty inside?

Truth over Chaos

Your Honour Lies in Loyalty

Ride a CBR600F and VFR400 NC30
27th January 2009, 09:42 PM
woodie
Pro-Active Forum Supporter